More than enough.

Like I said, today I wasn’t feeling good about myself.  For some reason, beginning this past weekend, life here has seemed extra boring.  My friend Matt, who is working and living on Wadmalaw Island (a neighbor of my summer home, Johns Island) at a seafood company, agreed with this sentiment; however, we have no explanation for this.  Maybe it has to do with the humidity, being tired from work . . . or because we’ve been here a while and are getting tired of our sole from of entertainment being a two hour drive “around” with no destination.  Anyway, lately I have felt extra bored and also lonely.   I miss Ange, and my other girlfriends from home, and also being able to do something fun without having to drive a minimum of forty-five minutes.  So, after my slow day at work, and just feeling in a funk for a while, I decided to go for a bike ride to the beach, hoping to shake the blues and get out of the house despite the looming clouds and thunder.

Anyone who knows me well knows that I have a habit of talking (yes, aloud) to myself, especially when something is on my mind.  Today as I rode to the beach, I had a really negative conversation with myself about my boring day answering the phone, frustrations with my co-workers, brooding annoyances by my roommate, and also my own shortcomings, especially regarding my relationships.

Thank goodness the ride is only about twenty-five minutes, because it was only once I got to the beach that I realized how negative my words were– about others and myself.  It’s good to get things out, but after a certain point, so much negativity is just not productive or healthy.  Anyway, as I swam in an ocean almost completely void of any other human beings, I still couldn’t let go of my frustrations with myself.  I couldn’t shake the loneliness that has been bothering me for the past few days.  I felt like I had no friends to talk to here or at home. . . like I missed spending time with Mom and Dad. . . like I was getting tired of searching for the right guy. . . etc, etc.

When I left the beach, though, I felt a little renewed.  Kind of like the water had washed the negativity from me.  For the bike ride back to my car, I turned my iPod on to Jeremy Camp’s song “Enough.”  I have heard this song lots of times before, but realized as I rode that the lyrics were especially pertinent to how I have been feeling.  In feeling inadequate, and like my friendships and other relationships are not enough, I should be looking to God to fill the void.  Or, not even to fill the void, but I should be turning to God first.  I think that if I focus on my relationship with God, I will be able to see everything else I do and everyone else I encounter much clearer.

I feel like I notice God all around me-- especially in nature-- more than I ever have living down here.

 

Here are the lyrics to “Enough”:

All of you is more than enough for all of me
For every thirst and every need
You satisfy me with your love
And all I have in you is more than enough

You are my supply
My breath of life
Still more awesome than I know
You are my reward
Worth living for
Still more awesome than I know

And all of you is more than enough for all of me
For every thirst and every need
You satisfy me with your love
And all I have in you is more than enough

You are my supply
My breath of life
Still more awesome than I know
You’re my coming King
You’re my everything
Still more awesome than I know

And all of you is more than enough for all of me
For every thirst and every need
You satisfy me with your love
And all I have in you is more than enough

More than all I am
More than all I need
You are more than enough for me
More than all I know
More than all I can say
You are more than enough

And all of you is more than enough for all of me
For every thirst and every need
You satisfy me with your love
And all I have in You is more than enough

Honestly, I think it is so cool that this song came on after I had been feeling like I didn’t have enough relationships to make me happy.  I need to remember that my relationship with God should be most important to me, and that if I confide in God I will realize that I am satisfied by God’s love, that God is more than enough for me.  Even when I feel alone, I know that God will comfort me. . . I’m just not always sure of how.  I believe that God is in everyone, and that God’s word and will is often revealed to us through others, I just sometimes have a hard time understanding what is really God.  I am comforted by the fact that God is more than enough for me.  God knows me and has a plan for my life, and will take care of me when I feel alone or uncertain.

I’m so thankful that I was reminded of God’s greatness and love tonight through a song.  After I heard it the first time, I understood, and felt like I could have a re-do of the day, even though it was already 8:00 pm. 

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Friends, Jesus, Nature, South Carolina, Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More than enough.

  1. AC says:

    This is a great song and a great reminder that He is, in fact, enough. We are blessed!

Leave a Reply

