PSA

Phew.  It is only 4:30 and I think I am ready to end the day.  Most Tuesday evenings in the summer at Rural Mission, we have a Seafood Jamboree at 6:00 with lots of delicious food, singing, prayer, and conversation.   The groups who are doing repair projects for the Work Camp program usually come, and some other random people join, too.  It’s always a good time, and a beautiful evening under the oak trees.  It seems like we always manage to have a breeze, too, and it is so nice to be outside.  Anyway, tonight we have the last Jamboree of the summer, and I am taking a little break from work before we start setting up tables and chairs.

Ms. G greeting the guests.

This isn't a great picture, but it's some of the group at last week's Jamboree.

Today I drove to Hollywood to run some errands, and then out to Rockville to pick up the shrimp from Cherry Point Seafood for tonight. . . I wasn’t going to write about this, but he popped (at first I typed ‘pooped’ HA) into my head, so I guess I will–

My friend, Matt, is from Tennessee but is working at down here at the seafood company for the summer.  I met him early on because he grew up coming down to Rural Mission with his family and church, and he was at the first Tuesday night Jamboree I was here for this summer.  Anyway, I feel like a PSA or something, but I just want to take a second to say how grateful I am for Matt.  Johns Island is pretty remote; there’s not much to do nearby, so Matt and I have spent lots of time just driving around the islands, to Charleston and back, and also doing other random things.  Maybe it’s weird that I’m writing this on my “public” blog, but I guess I’m too tired to write it in my private journal, and besides, why shouldn’t the world know how great he is?  Haha.  Anyway, I am rambling on, but thanks to Matt for being my friend and driving around for 3 hours with me on a weeknight because after work we don’t have time to get drive the minimum 20 miles to an actual destination before it closes,  for laughing with (and at) me, and eating and enjoying my food; for giving me “advice”, not minding my tendency to miss the same turn night after night, making me play guitar in front of him,  teaching me about fish, frog “gigging” and other stuff I know nothing about, and for just talking and listening with me.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Friends, South Carolina, Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

