What a friend we have in Jesus

I am already slacking in the blog department, so hopefully today I will try to make up for lost time.

This morning, I was reading the Upper Room devotional from yesterday (I am a little behind in more areas than one).  It focuses on Jesus as our best friend, which is something that I have given more thought to and really started to appreciate recently.   In John 15:15, Jesus said, “I do not call you servants any longer, because the servant does not know what the master is doing; but I have called you friends, because I have made known to you everything that I have heard from my Father.”

Jesus lived by example and taught the disciples everything they (we) would need to know once his life on earth ended.  He loves us so much, not just as his followers, but as individuals who make lots of mistakes and don’t always listen to his advice the first time around.  I find so much comfort in the fact that, despite all my imperfections, I still find a friend in Jesus (that reminds me of that old hymn, “What a Friend We Have in Jesus”. . . .) who sees me as was human, just like me.  And, not only is he a friend who wants to hang out with us all the time, he wants to teach us God’s will and encourage us to “live a life of love” (Ephesians 5:2).

In the past, I’ve struggled with relating God with my life, because it sometimes feels hard for me to understand a spirit that just seems so huge and is all-powerful and all-knowing, etc.  The fact that Jesus lived and taught among people like me, and treated us all as equals, reminds me that God is waiting for me, for all of us, to embrace the friendship and start living (or, at least trying to live) like Jesus did when he was among us in the flesh.

I am so glad that when I’m having a bad day, have a negative attitude, or are just in a bad mood, I am reassured that Jesus will still be my friend and love me all the same.  One verse of that hymn I mentioned, “What a Friend We Have in Jesus,” says:

Have we trials and temptations?
Is there trouble anywhere?
We should never be discouraged—
Take it to the Lord in prayer.
Can we find a friend so faithful,
Who will all our sorrows share?
Jesus knows our every weakness;
Take it to the Lord in prayer.

Maybe this sounds corny, but really, if that isn’t encouraging, then I don’t know what is.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Friends, Jesus, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What a friend we have in Jesus

  1. HG says:

    Not corny! what a friend we have . . . amen!

Leave a Reply

