Creekside

I have always loved going to Creekside.  A couple weeks ago, I headed to Batesburg-Leesville to check up on Nana and Granddaddy.  We had a good visit, even though it was short.  I have such good memories from there– playing with Mom and Uncle Jay’s old toys out in the playhouse, catching frogs and lightning bugs, wondering what was really behind the fence in Granddaddy’s garden, going on walks with Granddaddy, fishing off the dock, swimming to “Virginia Rock” in the creek, spending afternoons cheering each other on as we skied behind the boat, helping Nana fix lunch and passing it through the kitchen window to the deck, playing Go Fish in the sun room . . . .  I love thinking back to spending summer days and some holidays there. We lived so simply, and it was so fun.  Annie, Aubrey, and I loved getting to spend special time with Nana and Granddaddy, with or without Mom and Dad.

Sometimes I think about how (way) in the future I want to take my own family there so  they can experience the same feelings I always get when I go to Creekside.  There is something I love so much about being secluded with just family or close friends– surrounded by tall trees and the chirps and buzzes of wildlife, spending the day outside in the warm sunshine, cooking some good food for supper, and slipping into a cozy bed at night.  That kind of simplicity is so appealing.

My most recent visits are usually just me, and we don’t go out in the boat or do everything we used to do, but the feeling remains.  I think that’s because the most important part of Creekside– Nana and Granddaddy– are still there.  I love them so much.

(Click on the photos to view them larger.)

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Family, Growing Up, Nature, South Carolina, Summer, Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

