Leaving

Yesterday was my official last day at Rural Mission, and  I am so excited to go home to the mountains for a few days and see my family and friends, but I am equally sad to leave here.

I have never been good at leaving.  Actually, the only time I can remember being so ready to go I could cry (I probably did cry, come to think of it– no surprise there) was when Dad came to D.C. to help me move out of Letts Hall before I transferred from American University.  Other than that, I am awful at leaving.  Saying goodbye, even though they tell you to just say “see you later,” is so hard.  It doesn’t take much for me to feel connected to a place, and even less for a person.  I love feeling close to people, but when the time comes to part ways, I have to work really hard to be strong.  I don’t know what God’s plans are, but I just know that I will see the people at Rural Mission again soon.  Maybe even for more long-term than a weekend visit.

Yesterday, we put the phone on “night” and all went to lunch at the marina since it was John’s and my last day.  My family would be proud of me for not crying; I only teared up a little bit.  Today Vi was here again to cook for a family reunion, and when she got ready to leave I was so sad.  She is such a special, wonderful person.  Since the day I got here she has made me feel at home; it feels like I’m leaving one of my other moms saying bye to her.  It’s always hard for me to turn the page, close the chapter, move on, whatever you want to call it, but in a way I am grateful for that feeling because it reminds me how important relationships and new experiences are, and how much I cherish and learn from them.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Friends, Love, South Carolina, Summer, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

