Beauty

Every time I drive home, back to the mountains, I get this feeling of thanksgiving and like I am overflowing with amazement at the beauty of my surroundings.  Southwestern Virginia is so beautiful.  Growing up in Blacksburg, I didn’t really notice how nice it really is because I was used to waking up to the mountains, hiking to the cascades, and seeing cute deer on the way up our driveway.  We get all four seasons, too, which is something else I love.  I think Fall could be my favorite one, but honestly, it’s hard for me to choose which season I love best because, in Blacksburg, we get to experience them all, and each brings its own delights and nuisances.  Now that I don’t live here full-time, the beauty of this place is much more apparent to me.  They definitely don’t have these views, temperatures, or seasonal changes everywhere (especially Williamsburg).

Living in Charleston, where I grew up visiting in the summers but have never lived, really made me aware of the beauty of South Carolina’s lowcountry.  For the past two months I have woken up to a view of the marsh, which is just as captivating to me as the view outside my bedroom window at home.  I am so thankful for the beauty of the earth.  Sometimes I wonder how someone cannot believe that God exists when we are surrounded by so much natural beauty.  I am thankful for the different places I have lived and visited, and the joys and frustrations that each have brought me.  If you count the summer months, I have lived in five different cities/towns in the past three years.  Like people, each place I have spent significant time in has its own character and teaches me something.  If you ask me, there is definitely something great to be said for moving away and experiencing new environments; at the same time, I think there will always be “no place like home.”

Mollie and Brue.

Welcome home to Virginia, to me!!

Mom's flowers

Welcoming committee.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Blacksburg, Nature, South Carolina. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

