Future

I have been on a blog hiatus because I am on vacation at the beach.  It’s always nice to end the summer spending time with family and friends for a week, but it also means that it is time to wrap things up and get back to school and work.  Obviously I haven’t posted anything in a while, but hopefully once I’m home for a few days before I head back to school I will do some more catching up.  This is nothing inspirational or really that interesting, but for my own sake, I will recap the past little while.

I was home for almost a week after work ended in Charleston, and I got to spend some good time with some friends.  Steppin’ Out, Blacksburg’s annual “block party” was pretty much the same as it is every year (and I even skipped the past couple), but it was fun to see some people and go out anyway.  Last Saturday I went to Smith Mountain Lake for the day/night to celebrate Kelley’s birthday with Ston and Ange, and that was lots of fun– can’t believe that was only a week ago.  Then on Sunday, Annie and I met Mom and we headed down here to Isle of Palms and met up with the rest of the family.  It has been a good week, but I feel really ready to get back on a regular schedule and be at home a few more days before I head back to school.  It’s hard to  believe summer is already nearing its end, but it has been good.

Right now I have those mixed emotions about the end of summer– it feels like it passes so quickly each year, but also I am so excited about my future.  I have no idea what it holds, but I hope that I will find joy as I discover it each step of the way.  It is finally time for me to be thinking about my life after college– what I will do, where I will live, who I will meet, etc– and I am really excited about getting back to school and starting to make some of the decisions that will allow  me to experience new things.  At the same time,  it can be easy to slip into a fear of the unknown.

Last weekend I was talking to a guy I had just met about where I should go/what I should do after school, and he really encouraged me to go somewhere new.  He is only a few years older than I am but his job has already led him to live in a few different cities that he otherwise probably never would have seen.  Sometimes the thought of moving all the way across the country to a city where I have never visited and know not a soul is so scary; but, at the same time, it’s also very liberating.  As the homestretch of college begins for me, I really want to embrace the future and all the possibilities that may come my way.  Instead of jumping to conclusions about what I can or cannot do, or where I will or will not be happy, I want to remember that taking chances is a good thing.  From past experiences, I know that a little discomfort in new situations doesn’t hurt (at least not permanently).  This has turned into a rant, so I guess what I really mean to say is that I should be confident in my own abilities and passions, and trust God in all that I do and as I look to the future, knowing that things will work out.  It sounds cliche, but I kind of do feel like the possibilities are endless.  Jeremiah 29:11 reminds me, “‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord.  ‘Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'”  I really do believe that God calls us to love God and love others, and if I do that to the best of my ability and try to model my life after Jesus’, good things will happen in my life.  Hopefully I will remember this six months from now when it is likely that the stress from being so close to becoming a full-time member of the “real world” presents itself even more strongly.

With all that focus on the future, here’s to hoping next week I will get back to posting more regularly.  Take care.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Future, School, Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

