So long, Summer

Ok, so much for catching up on the blog while I was at home last week.  Hopefully soon I will put up some pictures from our time at the beach, and the couple of weeks I spent at home.  I just got back to school tonight, so I guess that means summer is officially over.  How bittersweet.  I am ready to start senior (!!) year and think about what step comes next, and for Fall, but I don’t know if I’m ready for all the schoolwork– the hundreds of pages of reading each week, the papers, exams, discussions.  It seems like work is never done during school because, if nothing else, there is always reading to be done.  Classes start on Wednesday for me, so hopefully I will be ready and they will be interesting and enjoyable even if they are difficult and tiring simultaneously.

Last week at home was good.  It went by pretty slowly, which was good since it was my last week of summer.  Yesterday, Dad and I hiked up to McAfee Knob on the Appalachian Trail.  It was beautiful, and I’m really glad we got to spend that time together.  There are so many wonderful things about southwest Virginia, and the views are just one of them.

As the new school year gears up, and we all get back to the schedules and routines we strayed from in order to soak up the summer sun, I hope that I am able to see things clearly and positively.  I am usually pretty good at keeping perspective and not letting school stress me out too much, but it’s still difficult.  There are lots of things I want to do these last two semesters, including taking lots of fun weekend trips to visit people, meeting and enjoying new people here, and beginning the job search, but sometimes I do get overwhelmed by my schoolwork and forget about trying to have fun.

Some broad goals I have for these last two semesters are to have fun, help others, love and visit my friends and family, and do well in school.  With so much going on, I find this verse from 1 Peter really comforting: “So keep a firm grip on the faith. The suffering won’t last forever. It won’t be long before this generous God who has great plans for us in Christ—eternal and glorious plans they are!—will have you put together and on your feet for good. He gets the last word; yes, he does” (5:10, The Message).  When I am frustrated or overwhelmed or sad or angry because of whatever– when I am down, God will lift me back up to my feet.  So, despite the challenges that come from all of our day-to-day grinds, know that God will be with us and will help us out when we fall.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Blacksburg, Future, School, Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So long, Summer

  1. Katie says:

    your dad has a beard?! are you back? when can you come visit?

Leave a Reply

