Every Season

I have only been back in class for two days, but I already feel tired.  I am hoping my brain readjusts very soon to having to write papers and read thousands of pages of textbooks and academic readings.  Although it is sometimes difficult for us all to get back to our routines, something I love so much about starting back to school is the promise of Autumn!  I love Fall so much.  Honestly, I love each season because they are all four so unique and bring great things and also some things I don’t always look forward to.  But, I have to say, I think if I could only have one season the rest of my life, I might choose Fall (I am a little indecisive though, so good thing I don’t have to choose that!).

Fall colors at home in Blacksburg

I just love the leaves changing, the crisp air, drinking hot tea or cider, wearing jeans and sweatshirts.  Mmm.  I also have so many fond Fall memories , like wearing brown loafers and leggings to school (with matching Kelly’s Kids sweatshirts!), trick-or-treating and coming home to Mom and Mrs. B dressed as witches serving chili , and going to high school and VT football games on the weekends.  November brings Thanksgiving (my favorite

Annie and me last Halloween.

holiday), of course, where friends and family from all

All of us at Thanksgiving last year.

over gather to celebrate the gifts God has blessed us with.  Gosh, I just love Fall.  There are so many wonderful things about this time of year, and so many opportunities to see God in all the hustle and bustle.

After Tyler's football game versus University of Richmond last Fall

Nichole Nordeman has a song called “Every Season” which is probably one of my favorites.  She sings about noticing God in all four seasons of the year.  It reminds me to also look for God in all seasons of my life– the good, the bad, the ugly, etc.  When I am feeling energized and excited, and when I am lonely, scared, or feel like giving up, God is with me.  I think that God exists in so many people and places, but a lot of the time I am not even looking.  I really love the lyrics to this song.  They are so poetic, yet simple.

Every evening sky, an invitation
To trace the patterned stars
And early in July, a celebration
For freedom that is ours
And I notice You
In children’s games
In those who watch them from the shade
Every drop of sun is full of fun and wonder
You are summer

And even when the trees have just surrendered
To the harvest time
Forfeiting their leaves in late September
And sending us inside
Still I notice You when change begins
And I am braced for colder winds
I will offer thanks for what has been and was to come
You are autumn

And everything in time and under heaven
Finally falls asleep
Wrapped in blankets white, all creation
Shivers underneath
And still I notice you
When branches crack
And in my breath on frosted glass
Even now in death, You open doors for life to enter
You are winter

And everything that’s new has bravely surfaced
Teaching us to breathe
What was frozen through is newly purposed
Turning all things green
So it is with You
And how You make me new
With every season’s change
And so it will be
As You are re-creating me
Summer, autumn, winter, spring

It’s easy to get caught up in my surroundings or my personal issues and forget to notice how God is moving and living among us; and, if we let it happen, God supports us and helps us along, fashioning us into the people we are called to be– those who love God and love others.  Isaiah 64:8 says, “O Lord, you are our Father.  We are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of Your hand.”  Just as God changes the seasons, God changes us, molds us, especially if we are open and willing to receive.  The challenge, then, is to hear and see God’s vision for us, and to apply Jesus’ teachings to our everyday lives.  Some days this is harder for me than others, but I think remembering to look for God in each season of my life reminds me to reach out to God and to others.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Family, Growing Up, Music, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

