Resolution

Mercy, it is hot in Williamsburg.  I worked up a sweat just walking from campus to my apartment today, and yesterday, as I was walking to my car from the Law Library, I noticed how the breeze doesn’t even help at all, it just pushes hot air into your face.  I’m sure I’m not the only one who is hoping we get some cooler weather very soon!

Anyway, I wrote myself an e-mail this afternoon with the subject “blog post TODAY” because I have been reminded a lot lately about how blessed I am to have so many wonderful people in my life who love, support, and encourage me.  Especially recently, I have received e-mails, notes, and texts from friends just saying “hey,” checking on me, encouraging me about one thing or another, or complimenting me, and they mean so much.  Thank you.

A semester or 2 ago, I wrote “Give more compliments” on a post-it note and stuck it in a visible location right on my desk.  I remember that the creation of this self-reminder was prompted because I was thinking about my sister, and all the incredible ways she does good for others, and how great and funny she is.  I think I wrote her a quick e-mail telling her basically what I just said, and in her note back to me I could tell how much she appreciated the compliment.  Annie is my oldest best friend, and obviously we both know how much we love each other, but I think sometimes it’s easy to go along without verbalizing how great we think our friends and family are.  If you know me at all, you know that I don’t really have a problem wearing my heart on my sleeve (honestly, I can’t help it as much as I try to hold it in sometimes), but I still fail to communicate the little (and big) things I love so much about each person in my life.

Like I said before, it means a ton to me to know that my friends, even the ones who are far away, are thinking of me.  I don’t think I know a single person who doesn’t appreciate a bright smile, a compliment, or an unexpected note, especially from someone who means a lot to them.  I have a friend from high school, who lives in California now, who has always been such a sweet, good person.  He is so good at making my day just by writing kind words in a text or on my Facebook wall.  I don’t think he has the intention of cheering me up, or making me feel good necessarily, he is just a genuine person who shares kind words easily.  I admire that quality in him so much.

This summer, Ms. G, the director of Rural Mission, where I worked,  would send me e-mails almost daily with things she wanted me to do for her.  At the beginning or ending of each, she would include a little note about how thankful she was for me, the work I was doing, etc.  About 2 weeks after my job ended, we went to the beach for vacation.  Around the middle of the week, Linda, another woman I worked with, called me just to say how she missed me and some other nice things.  Those notes and calls were so encouraging.  Similarly, two friends e-mailed me in the past couple days about my last post on how frustrating and disheartening it can be to find a church community.  It means so much and comforts me to know that I have people in my life who can relate to my experiences and encourage me and remind me I’m not the only one,  and who offer me (truly) words of wisdom.

I’m not sure how well I have followed my own advice to “give more compliments,” but that same post-it note from last year was taped to my computer all summer and is now back in its place on my desk.  I am blessed with friends and family who show and tell me how I am loved, and that, too, reminds me to reciprocate!  I have always been a big believer that little things (actions, amounts, words) do make a difference, and I am resolving to give more compliments to the people in my life whom I love so dearly.  Some things really just shouldn’t go unsaid!

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Love, Williamsburg. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Resolution

  1. annie says:

    love you, marge

Leave a Reply

