Today was good.

Sometimes I really love riding in the car by myself because it gives me time to think about things and talk to myself.  I just got back to my apartment in Williamsburg after spending the day with Annie, Mom, and Dad in Charlottesville. (We missed Aub!)  We met there and had good food and went to the UVA/Florida State game this afternoon and then went out to eat on the Downtown Mall afterward.

I have always loved my family, of course, but since I’ve been away from home I have realized how truly thankful I am for them.  I really don’t know if I will ever be able to express how much I love Mom, Dad, Aubrey, and Annie (and my extended family, too). I’m extra grateful for the time we get to spend together since we’re all so often scattered around in different places.  It’s funny, ’cause right when I sat down to write this, I glanced at Facebook and saw this first thing:

Maybe it’s because we are twins, or because we are from the same family, or just a coincidence, but I was thinking this exact thing as I drove the 2 hours back to school tonight.  I am so blessed to have so many loving, supportive people around me.  It always just feels good to be with those who know you best, and who accept you for who are despite everything they know about you.  I have four best friends who I’ve lived with almost my whole life, and that is one of the best feelings ever!

As I drove tonight, I was also thinking a lot about putting my trust in God despite all the unknowns that life brings.  I have said this before, but I find lots of comfort in knowing that God knows what is going on and has everything under control.  Every day I read the blog of one of Katie’s friends, Libby, who is only 26 and was recently diagnosed with cancer.  I don’t know her personally, but through what she writes I can tell how courageous and faithful she is.  The other day she wrote about how she is glad that her life is in God’s hands, not hers or her doctor’s.  I guess without having that assurance that God is in control, something like cancer would be even more scary and confusing than it must already be.  I am really inspired by Libby and how much she trusts that God will take care of her and her family through this hard time.

I was going to save today’s Upper Room devotional for tomorrow, but just now decided to go ahead and read it.  Of course, it relates to what I am writing about right now.  Things always happen like that!  The devotional quotes Luke 12:22-34, which is Jesus telling the disciples not to worry about life because God takes care of the birds and the flowers, so we will certainly be taken care of, too.  Verses 28-30 say,

“But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, how much more will He clothe you– you of little faith!  And do not keep striving for what you are to eat, and what you are to drink, and do not keep worrying.  For it is the nations of the world that strive after all these things, and your Father knows that you need them.  Instead, strive for God’s kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well.”

Sometimes, like tonight, when I’m thinking about where I want to move after graduation, or which jobs I should apply for, or what I’m going to study in graduate school, I start to over-analyze things and consider making decisions based on how I will feel about future events that, obviously, haven’t happened yet.  One point of having faith and trusting God is to not feel like I have to rely on myself to make the “perfect” decision every time.   Mom always says, “trust the process” and I need to be reminded of this pretty regularly.

Tonight, and always, I am thankful for my family, and for everyone in my life who loves me.  And, I am thankful for people like Libby, whose strength and faith in God shine through in the midst of the most trying, painful situations.  Please keep her and her family in your thoughts and prayers.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Family, Future, Love, School, Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today was good.

  1. Julie Brunner says:

    i love your family, too. and i love you 🙂

  2. Lawrie says:

    So glad that you had a good day with Annie and your parents! We are so blessed! I love you!

Leave a Reply

