Joy, revisited

I am so happy right now.  Today has been such a good day.  I haven’t read that book that’s all about the “power of positive thinking” but I do believe that having a good attitude and thinking positively can shape the way you view things, if not somehow influence the way stuff turns out.  This morning I woke up, checked my e-mail, and thought “Today is going to be a great day.”  I honestly did.  I even put that on my Facebook page because I was feeling so good about it.  So, to make a long story short, all day I just kept having happy/pleasant interactions and occurrences and felt relaxed and good about myself.  Plus, the weather is getting to be fall-like and as I walked back to my apartment from checking out library books after class tonight (I love finding my books in the stacks, by the way), it smelled like fireplace or campfire fire (I guess I am trying to say it smelled like burning wood?) and I love that smell!!

There is this saying,”My joy should have no regard for my circumstances,” that I first read on Rachel B.’s Facebook page.  I am not sure where exactly it comes from, (something to do with the Mocha Club that she is a part of, I think) but I like it a lot.  I have thought and written about this before, and I think it is just so important to remember that our joy should not come from our daily circumstances.  We can’t control a lot of things, so to seek joy in impermanent objects or conditions doesn’t really make sense if we want to be truly happy. This quote reminds me of my trip to Nicaragua about a year and a half ago, when I met some of the most joyful people I have ever known.  All of them were orphans, and lots were half my age.  If they can embrace joy despite all the challenges they have endured, I certainly should be able to.  I am so thankful to my Nicaraguan friends for bringing this and other realizations to me, and for their sweet, loving spirits.

Lots of things seemed to be working out fine for me today, and that made me happy.  While the little things (like a compliment from a professor, getting to watch an episode of Teen Mom in the middle of the day, Fall smells, and the upcoming 4 day weekend!) matter and bring temporary pleasure, it’s good to know that we can find joy in Jesus’ love and goodness– and that’s a BIG thing.  Even when I’m not feeling too smiley, I can remember this great love, and that should be enough.  Joy is all around us every day, we just have to accept, embrace, and share it.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

