Life is too important . . .

This is really random, but the other day I read something that someone had written about songs they grew up with or something like that.  It reminded me of how in eight grade I played Shania Twain’s “It Only Hurts When I’m Breathing” over and over for probably at least a couple months straight.  I can’t remember why I felt like that song applied so well to my life then, but I am really glad that I am far enough past middle school to be able to crack up at my adolescent self.  I’m sure I probably just had a crush who didn’t like me back, or was upset with my parents for never understanding me and felt blasting Shania Twain while holed up in my room was my best option for self-expression.  HAHA.  Anyway, just to make sure everyone understands the drama, ridiculousness, and hilarity of this, I will post the song below with the lyrics so you can get the full effect.

Speaking of Shania Twain, I also once sang her hit (?) “Forever and For Always” at a wedding for two older individuals who were childhood sweethearts, had been separated, and ended up back together in their late sixties.  Besides these two occurrences, I (thankfully) haven’t really had much other experience with Shania Twain . . . that is, except for 94.9 Star Country always playing her really old music all the time.  What is with them, anyway?

The point of this post, besides complete randomness, is to say that being able to laugh at yourself, in my opinion, is what Mom would call a “life skill.”  Honestly, I am sure I crack myself up at least three times a day, and I love it!  I know I was extra-emotional growing up, especially during middle school, but I am thankful that I can look back to those years and see how I’ve grown from all my experiences.  I’m grateful that often “hindsight is 20/20” and that I can always find joy in retrospect even if it seems to be hiding in the moment.  Plus, you know what Oscar Wilde said:  “Life is too important to be taken seriously.”

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Growing Up, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life is too important . . .

  1. Jo says:

    mags–i had a realization similar to this very thought this weekend. i actually laughed at some of my current emotions, but was grateful that i too was not swallowed up in them like i was in middle school.
    and you are right life is too much fun to be taken too serious. thats why i get to see you soon! also can you sing shania twain with me in dc?!?!

Leave a Reply

