How do I know?

I realized yesterday that there are basically only three weeks left of classes this semester.  That seems unreal.  I have been so busy with school the past couple weeks that I didn’t even think twice to say bye to October and now we’ve already been in November almost a week.

Like a lot of people in my position right now, I don’t know where I’ll be in six months or what I’ll be doing.  In September I felt lots of motivation and enthusiasm to start taking the steps to figure that out when everything else got in the way.  Needless to say, as I approach my last semester of college, of course the future is still on my radar, it’s just been a little further in the background lately.

Anyway, yesterday I managed to squeeze in part of a Peace Corps information session they were having at William and Mary’s career center because I am trying to be really open about what’s next for me . . . .  For some reason the right words are not coming out at all right now.  Maybe it’s because I’m pretty tired and should just go to bed.  The question I have been thinking about a lot, lot, lot is this:

How do I know what is the right path for me?  How do I decipher God’s voice/will from my own?  Sometimes when I have a decision to make or something, I feel like coincidences (or “providential” things, as Mom says) happen, or things seem to just start coming together and I tell myself, “Maybe this is God letting me know this is right.”  But, how do I figure out how to know God’s real desires for me in the midst of my own thoughts, desires, and expectations for myself?

The Peace Corps presenter was talking about Americorps, a program sort of like Peace Corps but in the United States, and she described it as “just like ‘Real World’ [the MTV show]; they drive around in vans together all the time and everything.”  As she said that I honestly thought to myself, “That sounds horrible” and even made a face (that of course no one saw, but still).  But then I started wondering, how do I know for sure that I would not like to do something like Americorps?   I struggle with knowing how to determine God’s will in the sea of thoughts and emotions that live in my head.  Am I just trying to reason that what I think I want is also what I think God wants for me? I don’t really think I would like living in a “Real World” type situation, but sometimes I wonder, are what I think are my true feelings and desires really them, or are they just my insecurities and fears talking?  Am I really just making excuses for myself to not try something new?

These thoughts are not written very eloquently, and they are repeated, and just unclear.  I guess that fits, because they don’t feel very eloquent or understandable in my head.  Sometimes, all I want to know is how to hear/feel/know God’s voice and will above my own, or everyone else’s, so that I can grow into the person God created me to be.  It’s pretty hard for me, though.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Future. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

