Lay ’em down

The longer I sit here, hunched over my computer, the harder it is to be motivated to study.  I’d rather be spending time researching cities I might want to live in, looking for jobs, playing guitar . . . I’d rather be doing lots of other things. But, I’ve been listening to the song, “Lay ‘Em Down” by NeedToBreathe today, and I like it a lot.  It reminds me to let go.  From The Message: “Pile your troubles on God’s shoulders—he’ll carry your load, he’ll help you out.  He’ll never let good people topple into ruin” (Psalm 55:22).

This weekend was a nice break from all the work I’ve been doing.  I went to D.C. on Friday to visit Joanna.  Annie met up there, too.  There’s just something irreplaceable about spending time with people who know you as well as you know yourself.  When we get together, we all talk pretty loud and usually over one another, but we still, somehow, know what we’re saying.  We laugh a lot and remember a lot, too.  We talk about our lives now and especially the future.  It’s OK if it takes us a couple hours after breakfast to get going, because we don’t have to do anything to be entertained; we just like being together.  We are three peas in a pod.

Friends who you are sure will always want to spend time with you, who aren’t afraid to tell you when you’re acting crazy, offer sweet and kind words at just the right moments– friends who encourage you to “lay ’em down,” and who love you forever, unconditionally, are such a blessing.

Waiting for cupcakes this weekend

Memphis, May 2010

Thanksgiving, 2009

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

