Tear off that rearview mirror

This morning on my walk I was thinking about the future.  I decided that I need to work on not being upset or frustrated with myself for things in the past that I can no longer control or that are natural, like the fact that four years ago as I was applying for college I really had no idea what I wanted to study; or how a couple summers ago I didn’t think about the fact that maybe I’d want to live in Nashville or somewhere different after school, so I should get an internship there to start making connections.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately because I feel like, had I known what I know about myself now, I would have made a lot of different decisions and felt more secure in them.  There’s a part of this song by Montgomery Gentry that says “Tear off that rearview mirror, there’s nothing left to see.”  I don’t advocate blocking out the past or disconnecting yourself completely from your former experiences, but sometimes it helps to stop looking backward at things you can’t change.  I always say I’m not someone who has regrets, because I always learn from my experiences and decisions, even if they don’t turn out as I expected.  I’m not sure if looking back and thinking, “If I’d only known . . .” is equal to having a regret (maybe it is), but I am  confident that this way of thinking doesn’t change the future.

Sometimes I just need to stop looking back negatively on the past, stop analyzing what I should have done to make me happier or more successful now, and focus on how much I learned and grew from those experiences.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Future, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tear off that rearview mirror

  1. Jo says:

    http://www.musiccitycommunitychorus.org/

    something to look at mags. maybe something to see in the path ahead.

    love you.

Leave a Reply

