The Big Apple

We had a busy but great trip to New York last weekend to see Aub and explore the city.  I don’t really think I could ever live in a city as big and crowded and northern as it is, but as I walked through the streets it did make me think about the sense of freedom one must get living in a place where you can literally do pretty much whatever the heck you want and often not even be noticed.  You can be as silly or ridiculous or sad or happy as you want and it would be ok.  I still don’t think I’d feel good living in a place like New York, but I do like visiting and feeling like a tiny part of everything that goes on there each day.

Anyway, we did lots of touristy things like ice skated at Rockefeller Center, shopped (more like just being overwhelmed at its 9 stories) at Macy’s, saw the Statue of Liberty from the ferry, met a helpful, very cute guy on the subway, went to Chinatown, Ground Zero, and South Street Seaport.  We saw Aub’s show (Naked Boys Singing!), which was really funny– especially once I got over my initial embarrassment/shock– and he did such a great job.  I’m so proud of him and can’t wait to visit again soon.  We saw Chicago on Broadway, too, caught up with some old friends, met a new friend working at a jazz supper club, and ate lots of food.  Phew.  The extended weekend was lots of fun and I’m so glad we got to share the trip with Nana and Rachel before school starts again.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Family, Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

