Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you . . .

Today is the birthday of the most generous, hardworking, loyal person I know.  I will make this short and sweet, because there are so many things I love about him that I know I would leave something out.

He went to every dance recital, took us to Sunday school and church every week, helped me buy school supplies for my friend who didn’t have any in fourth grade, coached fifth grade basketball, told me I was pretty and that he was proud of me in middle school (and still does) when I didn’t feel it myself, encouraged me to run for SCA in high school, supported me when I felt lonely and like I had no idea what I was doing in college.  He shows up to everything, always with a big smile– even if he’s sick or just got off the plane after a three day trip to Europe.  He answers my random questions about computers and credit cards, edits my resume, and gives me advice on looking for jobs.  He climbs mountains, participates in church plays, chaperones mission trips, and teaches me new things all the time.

This isn’t as short as  I’d planned, but I know I’ve still left things out.  Happy birthday, Dad!  You are the best in the world and I love you so much.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Family, Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

