Valentine, Schmalentine

I’ll be honest and say that last night I wrote a blog post about Valentine’s Day and how I think it is a silly holiday besides the fact that I think people should express their love for one another every day.  In my opinion, it is dumb for another reason, which has more to do with me than the day itself.  I mostly just don’t like how no matter how much I may think it’s dumb, when February 14th rolls around and I see lots of people with their flowers or red hearts full of chocolate (my favorite food) who are clearly enjoying the romance of the day (as they should, I guess), if I don’t have a “valentine” I still feel a little left out.

Anyway, I wrote a post last night about this, but tried to make it sound like it was no big deal.  However, I decided not to put that one up because, although I am not bitter or sad, it didn’t really seem to express what I wanted it to.  But, this afternoon I spent an hour sitting out in the glorious sunshine and went inside the library to find a message from one of the most special people in my life in my in-box.  I had  expressed to her my weird sort of discontent with Valentine’s Day a few days ago, noting I hoped it’d pass “quickly and gracefully.”  She responded in such a way that I wanted to share:

But I also wanted you to know that . . . people do love you, think you are beautiful, breathe life into their own life, and provide them with the kind of support and care that makes the kind of love celebrated on Valentine’s real. The love that makes people friends past the big bow phase of life,  that people stand beside while journeying through homecoming courts, and the kind of love that invites it to be said you don’t have to be anything but what you are.

My original post on Valentine’s Day had the same title as this one, because I’ll admit that some moments throughout the day I feel like saying that.  Fortunately I have many sweet people in my life who share their love with me on a regular basis, so going without a Valentine is really not a major issue.  Love does not have reservations and it does not expect to be done up special one day out of the year.  It is expressed through all sorts of relationships and touches people in vast ways.  I hope that everyone has someone special in their life to remind them of this.  Happy Valentine’s Day to all of you in mine who share your love with me.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Love, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Valentine, Schmalentine

  1. annie says:

    shout out to Jonan – JAM rox.

  2. Lori says:

    That is exactly what I needed to hear Maggie. Best to you.

  3. joannamarcy says:

    JAM does rock.

Leave a Reply

