Like love that wraps around me

Sometimes I have moments where I am stopped in the tracks of my busy schedule and preoccupations by an overwhelming awareness of how blessed I am.  They’re like little bursts of contentment that rush through my body and mind, reminding me that things are good.  These moments bring a simple but simultaneously extraordinary feeling that makes me feel strong and happy and like I can do anything because I know I am one small part of an interconnected community that will do great things with and for each other.

They are a clear culmination of all the little pieces of advice that the people in my life offer me, intentionally or not.  They strengthen who I am, and my sense of myself and my relationships.  They are like love that wraps around me in the most unexpected moments; like walking toward a friend whose smile is so bright their happiness shines through their eyes.  They bring back memories that make me laugh for long stretches and let me sleep easily at the end of the day.

I am overwhelmed and grateful.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Love, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Like love that wraps around me

  1. It’s nice when the little things start adding up in a good way. Doesn’t seem to happen often enough.

  2. CuppySkully says:

    It is good to be grateful. Sometimes people don’t do that very often. Our emotions are more likely to be controlled by complaints, angers, sadness, discontentment, disappointments.
    I make it a conscious effort to always stop to smell the roses, even if it’s just for a split second.
    Life is hard and not easy. But we can be grateful that we are, in fact, alive.

Leave a Reply

