It’s been a while

I can’t believe we are already halfway through March.  It usually goes by pretty fast for me, I guess because of Spring Break in the middle, but gosh.  I also can’t believe that I haven’t written in so long.

Last week I spent Spring Break in Birmingham painting houses, tutoring kids, serving homeless people, and learning a lot about the city itself, its people, and its powerful history.  I want to say more about it, but we just got back last night and I need some more time to process the experience.  We stayed busy all week, so there wasn’t too much extra time to spend for contemplation or reflection.   I will say, though, that I am so glad I decided (kind of last minute, and with the persuasion of one or two others) to go on the trip.  It was really nice to be able to disconnect from school and thinking about jobs or whatever and laugh a lot, get to know new people, and serve others.  Honestly, when I got back to my apartment last night I was almost immediately thrown into a bad mood.  There were clothes on the floor, food on the kitchen counters, and the bathroom was just gross.  Thankfully, a couple beverages, one last home-cooked meal before I revert back to my frozen broccoli and pinto beans routine, and some good sleep helped put things into perspective and ease my frustration.  I witnessed so much love, courage, and faith last week, and for that I am grateful.

Sunset on Atlanta

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Jesus, Love, Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s been a while

  1. Nate says:

    Atlanta is such a beautiful city. I wonder what it would like like today if it wasn’t burnt down. In the picture it almost looks like the building are on fire too.

  2. I have spent so much time in Birmingham over the last 5 years. The dichotomy in that city blows my mind. Unbelievable food and arts and yet the poorest of poor. So glad you could spend some time in service there. Birmingham is definitely a better place for you having been there. I just know it in my heart.

Leave a Reply

