“Barbie and Ken: 101”

The other night I went to the “Miss Africa Pageant” on campus and one woman performed the poem below as her talent.  It was incredibly truthful, powerful, and moving, so I wanted to share.  I apologize for some of the language ahead of time.

Barbie and Ken: 101
by Rafael Casal

Sometimes I feel like I’m sitting in the back of ‘Barbie and Ken 101’
A class we’re all in but never seem to learn from
Some general ed requirement for students of American culture
One that convinces even the brightest of young women that sex
is survival of the thinnest
And I’m sick of this education that doesn’t serve our best interest
My teacher has no face
She’s every Revlon model women have ever chased
Her lectures can be seen in the backs of magazines, beauty ads
and marketing campaigns
Shit, just turn on your TV
This just in ‘A skewed perspective for today’s youth’ –
Y’all ladies ain’t thin enough, fellas ain’t trim enough, wanna be sexy
Y’all dont go to the gym enough – cut to commercial
C’mon
Just tune, just tune into their maintenance team
Tell you you’re ugly then tell you how to fix it with
Maybelline
Please
they’re just molding Barbie to fit the new trend
Next they’re gonna have Club-Hoppin Barbie with thongs as accessories
Video hoe Barbie – abusive boyfriends sold separately
Underage Barbie – Kobe Bryants included
Or 9/11 victim Barbie and Ken is proud to get recruited
Problem is all these teachings are women’s decay
And my girlfriend is sitting up front and she’s getting an “A”
This is where I start getting really pissed off, okay?
When the fuck did it become about…
tuckin in the gut I gotta get the bigga breast shit I wanna fit a little better in a dress
so let me get a little skinny gotta fit into an itty bitty size slimmer just to liven up the chest
Please
Teacher, teacher I wanna give my oral presentation
cause i have a problem with the class
matter of fact – i have a damn problem with your whole administration
You’re the reason my girl won’t sit across from me in restaurants,
the reason she thinks she’s over fat in over 10 spots
Less gut less pudge less looks less real more looks more love more Barbie appeal
Oh shit
fuck
Barbie and Ken
Fuck Barbie and Ken
they’re the reason 15 year old girls arms are slit
the reason 12 year olds think skinny is a compliment
and it’s too late – it is too late
I can’t ride my way thru these bathroom doors
so I raise my hand in class cause I cant take it anymore
Teacher teacher your lectures are all backwards
You got mothers and daughters forgetting what matters
cause above hips, ass, lips, legs, and Uggs
the most real ass shit is women who don’t give a fuck
So screw all your teachings
so screw all your teachings, your lessons and plans
you skewed sick, distant relative of the man
your plan for brainwashing my baby I reject
I’m walking out of your class
and I will proudly
take
my “F”

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Barbie and Ken: 101”

  1. Annie says:

    AMEN.

Leave a Reply

