“Beautiful things out of the dust”

I was recently reminded by a couple people that I haven’t written in a long time.  My only excuse is that things are busy, time is flying by, and I’m trying to live in the moment as much as possible because in 4 days I will be completely finished with my college career.  Oh, also I forgot to mention that I have mono and am feeling very inconvenienced by its decision to appear at this very busy/fun time; but that’s life and it’s ok.

Anyway, it is currently after 1:00 am and I need to get up early to study for my exam in the afternoon (and should definitely be sleeping since, like I just said, I have mono) but I don’t feel sleepy yet.

The other day I was studying in the library listening to Pandora and the song “Beautiful Things” by Gungor came on.  I really love it. I know what it’s like to feel lost and as if things just aren’t working out.  There are people in my life right now who I know feel like they just can’t get a hold of themselves, or are struggling with acceptance, or with reaching out to God.  Who feel like they just can’t overcome something that’s controlling their every move.  Sometimes we feel like we’ve lost track of the person God has created us to be and we forget that God is strong enough to bear our weakness and our mistakes, and loves us regardless.  Our struggles are made into beautiful things– learning opportunities and chances to grow, new and unexpected relationships . . . God works in mysterious, and as Mom always says, providential ways.

All this pain
I wonder if I’ll ever find my way
I wonder if my life could really change at all
All this earth
Could all that is lost ever be found
Could a garden come up from this ground at all

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

All around
Hope is springing up from this old ground
Out of chaos life is being found in You

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

You make me new, You are making me new
You make me new, You are making me new

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Jesus, Music, Random, School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

