At least once a day

“She said she usually cried at least once each day not because she was sad, but because the world was so beautiful & life was so short.”  (Brian Andreas)

This is how I feel when people I really love meet other people I really love, which is what happened last weekend!!  Annie came to Williamsburg and she, McKenzie and I spent lots of– well, not a ton, but it was definitely high quality– time together.

She arrived on Friday afternoon, so we took her to lunch at Martin’s where we met a very animated older woman who spotted Annie’s VT jacket and approached us with, “Do you go to VTech?  I went to Roanoke College!”  She proceeded to tell us multiple stories about her teaching career and the many ways she was connected to places the three of us had lived or visited.

Anyway, after we recovered from our extended conversation with Judy, actually it was more like a listening session for us, we went to Wal-Mart.  Don’t you love when you can do nothing but go to Wal-Mart and still have fun and enjoy  being together?  I do.  Friday night we made dinner at Wesley with Celesta and it was goood.  McKenzie, Annie, and I got a drink afterward and then had a sleepover.

Saturday the weather was really nice, so we went to this place called Waller Mill Park and it was great!  Annie and I had never been there, but it was on a lake and had walking trails and also a place to rent paddle boats and go fishing.  We packed ourselves a picnic and really enjoyed just being outside.  I think when things get really busy, and especially with so much technology and everything these days, it’s easy to forget how peaceful and fulfilling it is to spend time in nature.

We left the park and took Annie to the Yankee Candle store in Williamsburg which is more accurately described as a candle MALL.  She loves those Yankee candles, so I knew it would be a hit.   Then, we went to Sno-to-Go before we headed back to my apartment so Annie could pack to go back to C’ville and for McKenzie and I to get ready to go to Richmond to spend Easter with her family– which I really loved.  The day (starting at 6 am  for me! I am kind of proud of that, even though it wasn’t intentional) was full of good conversation, food, and meeting new people.  I’m really thankful I was invited to share the day with McKenzie’s family.

I love when Annie comes to visit me in Williamsburg, and like I said, I really, really love when special people in my life meet each other and realize why I think each of them are so great.  I am so blessed.  I am known to have relatively active tear ducts, but honestly, what can I say?  Lots of things in life are just so beautiful; I feel like it’s either let it out or burst.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Holidays, Laughter, Trips, Williamsburg. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At least once a day

  1. Annie says:

    Love you, Margie.

  2. joannamarcy says:

    i think the next time i cry in front of dad i will tell him it is my active tear ducts. sounds like you gals (i am going to bring that word back to a level of hipness) had fun and a delightfully lovely weekend. oh and i agree with what annie said. hugs.

Leave a Reply

