For Such a Time as This

This morning, I sat in front of a computer in a humid, cold basement office and wondered about people.  Sometimes I don’t know what makes us lose sight of our goals or objectives, or get caught up in bickering or the little things that really don’t matter (“Did you see she actually moved that chair out of my office into her own??”).  As I was thinking, Ms. Venisa came in to talk with me.  “Over the weekend, I was wondering how I could tell you this the best way,” she said.  She continued to explain to me that we, being human, sometimes have a tendency to forget that we’re doing our work in order to glorify God by serving God’s people.  Our focus is to love and serve.  While others around us might become distracted, making our daily interactions and tasks about themselves rather than about God, Ms. Venisa continued,  it’s important to remember “even if you live with it, don’t be pulled into it.”

Sometimes when we notice that those around us– our peers, or co-workers, maybe our family– have lost sight of what’s truly important, it feels disheartening.  At least for me, sometimes it makes me wonder, “What’s going on in this place?”  Without voicing my thoughts, Ms. Venisa responded, reminding me of Esther’s story and her braveness and steadfastness.  When she was afraid and trying to determine whether or not she would use her power to help save the Jews, Esther’s uncle Mordecai remarked, “And who knows but that you have come to royal position for such a time as this?” (Esther 4:14)

Especially when things are rough and it’s difficult to be around others who have temporarily lost sight of our greatest purpose– at least as Christians– to love God and love people, and we feel like we’d just rather not get into it, it’s important to remember that God has a purpose for every experience in our lives, even those that we don’t understand right away.  We must continue asking God and ourselves, “Why am I here?”  When we do, we just might get the answer, “For such a time as this.”

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

