Lake Mercer

As I mentioned recently, I’ve made a few very surprising discoveries since I’ve been here in Northern Virginia.  A few weeks after I arrived here, I passed a mini gravel parking lot tucked on the side of the Hooes Road (Isn’t that a funny name?) and noticed a state park-looking sign.  I made a mental note to come back soon and check it out, and that’s what I did.

The first night I went, I started up a path through the woods that ended with a quick hike up a very steep hill .  About five minutes later, I was pleasantly surprised to discover a lake.  Not thinking about it, I’d started my walk just before sunset, and arrived atop the steep hill (which I later realized was a very large, grass-covered dam) just in time to watch as the sunlight filled the gaps in between the clouds, reflecting its artistry onto the water.

I didn’t have my camera that first night, but I went back and took a few pictures another time.  Who would have thought– in Fairfax Station, Virginia (I recently met someone who explained it’s “really just a zip code”).

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lake Mercer

  1. Jo says:

    take me!!!

  2. Michael Suraci says:

    What pretty pictures! And what a beauty you are. :o) I’m fortunate to own a home 1 minute walk from the levee. I took some nice pictures after yesterday’s “Snowquester” and posted them on my fb site; that’s how I came across your page – ‘Looking for other pics of LM. Enjoy the peace. Best Wishes, Michael S.

Leave a Reply

