Home

It’s funny how the more life changes and you move around, my definition of “home” changes.  This weekend I went back to Williamsburg for Homecoming.  To be honest, most of my time in college I couldn’t really picture myself ever going back for it  However, as last week progressed, I found myself becoming increasingly excited for our weekend return.

When I was in school and would leave for the weekend, whether it was to visit home (my parents’ house), a friend, or take a random trip, I can’t really remember a time where I was anxious to return to Williamsburg.  Going back there meant back to books, studying, and stressful deadlines.  This feeling of wanting to take a break away from “real life” continues for most of us regardless of what phase we’re in, or even how happy we seem to be in the moment.  As I walked to breakfast on Sunday morning, I thought about how I didn’t want to leave Williamsburg and wake up at 6:30 Monday morning to go milk goats.

One of our challenges is to learn to appreciate each moment and space we’re in.  I’m blessed to have others in my life who are better at this than I am, and who remind me of the importance of being grateful for today and not continuously worrying about the future or what comes next.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Future, Growing Up, Random, Williamsburg. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

