Inspiration

What does it mean for me when I go two months without writing?  And I don’t mean just on this public blog for the world to read.  I mean without even sheltering ideas and thoughts in my head before turning them into phrases in my journal or even in conversation.  I think it means that some inspiration is lacking.  Maybe not lacking– I know it’s there (the world is full of inspiring people, places, and things) but I’m probably overlooking it, or worse, ignoring it.

Inspiration.  What does that even mean?  The online dictionary defines it as “an inspiring or animating action or influence,” but I’m not sure using “inspiring” to define “inspiration” is allowed.  Other definitions of inspire include “to produce or arouse (a feeling, thought, etc.),”  “to influence or impel” and “to fill or affect with a specified feeling, thought.”

For me, inspiration to write (and “to do” in general) typically comes in the form of a human interaction– clutching my sister tight for ten minutes straight at Thanksgiving, trying to regain the previous 6 months we spent apart; a feeling– the wind blowing through my hair or sun shining on my face; a role– playing Maid of Honor to my lifelong school bus buddy-drumline partner-never give up on or stop loving me- friend; a reflection– realizing the abundance of blessings in my life; a recollection; a trial; a special trip; an expression.

To say these means of inspiration have not existed for me in the past months would be untruthful.  I don’t really know why I sometimes get in ruts where I tend to ignore the quiet urge to do something with (write, think, talk about) the inspiring moments that occur daily.  It’s probably something to do with getting wrapped up in myself– forgetting that to live wholly and really experience life I must broaden my view.  I need to remember that one of the most important parts of life is reflecting on the inspiration that fills each day and recognizing the blessings that God has put into my life.

No matter how big (getting a new job) or small (the sunshine that invites you onto the porch in February), each inspired moment– courtesy of a person, a place, a feeling, a thought, a memory (no need to be limited here)– holds the potential for greatness in how we respond to it.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

