Goats

My favorite animals (in no particular order) include:  dogs, giraffes, cows, and goats.  Having been separated from our family pups for the past five years and, admittedly, not ever really having much of a relationship with any giraffes or cows, my fondness for goats has skyrocketed in the past six months.  Recently, I went back to the farm (the one I worked at for a season) to visit my goat friends, including the brand new babies, the older kids, and their mamas.

Reunited with the older babies.

Since leaving the farm, many people have asked, “Do you miss it?”  My usual response is that I miss being on my feet and outside, and wearing my overalls, but mostly I just miss the goats.  Over the four months I was at the farm, I learned every name of the fifty two female goats we milked each morning and night.  I learned their personalities, their physical characteristics, and some of their family trees.  I try not to have favorites in my life (striving to find the good in everyone/thing), but I will admit that some goats stole my heart a little more quickly than others.  Needless to say, I was thrilled to make  it back to the farm a couple weeks ago for a visit with all the goats.  I felt like I was seeing old friends again, and promised to return much sooner next time.  And, the fact that they remembered me left me feeling so proud and like our friendship was affirmed.

Cami

McKenzie and a new kid.

If anyone is here in my neck of the woods, let me know and we will take a trip to visit my goat friends.  They are so loveable, I guarantee you’ll want to stay for hours.

Checking up on Cecilia, one of my special buds.

About maggieagrant

I love my family, friends, mountains, the beach, running, laughing, cooking, reading, and hearing and making music.
This entry was posted in Farm, Friends, Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

